_DSF0582.jpg

Sunday Readings

The church year beings on Advent Sunday and for 2022/2023 our Gospel readings will mostly come from the Gospel of St Matthew.  We usually have two readings at services - one from the New Testament; and one from the Gospel.  Some Gospel readings will be taken from St John's Gospel after Easter.

We follow the Common Worship Lectionary and we are in 'Year A'.  

Many denominations use the Common Worship Lectionary.

Sunday by Sunday
- readings for Church Services

When I work out how to do attachments - there will be readings!

Sunday 27th November 2022   Advent 1

Isaiah 2:1-5; Romans 13:11-end; Matthew 24:36-44
Click here for: Readings for 27th November 2022

Sunday 4th December 2022   Advent 2

Isaiah 11:1-10; Romans 15:4-13; Matthew 3:1-12

Click here for: Readings for 4th December 2022

Sunday 11th December 2022   Advent 3

Isaiah 35:1-10; James 5:7-10; Matthew 11:2-11

Click here for: Readings for 11th December 2022

Sunday 18th December 2022   Advent 4

Isaiah 7:10-16; Romans 1:1-7; Matthew 1:18-end

Click here for: Readings for 18th December 2022

Saturday 24th December 2022   Christmas Eve

Isaiah 52:7-10; Hebrews 1:1-4John 1:1-14

Sunday 25th December 2022   Christmas Day

Isaiah 9:2-7; Titus 2:11-14; Luke 2:1-14

Sunday 26th December 2021   The Feast of Stephen

Sunday 1st January 2023   The Naming and Circumcision of Jesus

Galatians 4:4-7; Luke 2:15-21

Sunday 8th January 2023   The Baptism of Christ or The Feast of the Epiphany (transferred)

We will use readings for the Feast of the Epiphany on this day

Isaiah 42:1-9; Acts 10:39-43; Matthew 3:13-end

Sunday 15th January 2023  The Second Sunday of Epiphany

Contact

Please do get in touch.

01283 851309